Purple Star Advisory Board

The Purple Star Advisory Board are volunteers from military agencies across the state. They are compassionate leaders and freely give of their time, talents, and treasures to serve as our motivators in meeting our mission. The Board of Directors meets quarterly on the second Thursday in the afternoon. The Advisory Board reviews the applications twice a year in March and in October and awardees receive special recognition to display at their school along with statewide recognition for their achievement.

If you are interested in serving on the Purple Star Advisory Board, please contact Sarah Jemison, program coordinator at sarah.jemison@ky.gov


Steve Bullard, Brigadier General USAF/ANG Retired, Office of the Governor Kentucky Commission on Military Affairs


Alli Turner, Lifeskills Regional Prevention Center

Amy Beal, Kentucky School Counselors Association

Dr. Ashley Bush, Kentucky Injury Prevention Research Center

Brenda Weatherington, US Army Garrison Fort Knox

Darren Bilberry, Kentucky High School Athletic Association

David Wickersham, Kentucky Department of Education

Donietta Hawkey, U.S. Department of Labor Veterans’ Employment & Training Service

Donna Smalls, MSL, National Association for Black Veterans

Heather Wainscott, Kentucky Office of Drug Control Policy

Holly Eubanks, SFC, Kentucky Army National Guard, Military Family Services NCOIC

James Richmond, COL USARMY NG, Kentucky Army National Guard

Jon Ackers, Kentucky Center for School Safety, Eastern Kentucky University

Kendra Stooksbury, Prevent Child Abuse Kentucky

Kristi Murtha, Christian County Chamber of Commerce

Laquvia Garrett, US Army Garrison Fort Campbell

Luke Evans, Focused Efficiency Coaching

Natalie Shaner, Child and Youth Program Coordinator, Kentucky National Guard

Norma Andrade, Kentucky Department of Education Office of Educator Licensure & Effectiveness & Quality

Rhonda Caldwell, Kentucky Association of School Administrators

Sarah Atkin, Kentucky School Counselors Association

Sherrie Martin, Family Resource Youth Service Centers, Hardin County  

Steve Sparrow, Kentucky Injury Prevention Research Center

Commissioner Whitney Allen JR., Kentucky Department of Veterans Affairs

Youth Representative – High School Sophomore